Slave to Technology Rant

 

grey_computer_loading_symbol_sticker-p217358525841187287envb3_400

That damn spinning circle drives me nuts.  Especially when I am trying to log in to my WordPress.  What does the server have to think about??!!  I enter my login information, and blamo, I should have access to my blog..  Right?  Apparently things aren’t quite that simple.  I’m not sure why I have so many damn problems, perhaps I am trying to do too much with free blog hosting.  My girlfriend seems to get her blogs up and running no problem, yet her flash fiction publication can be finicky.  Oh hell, what am I saying?  Her flash fiction publication can be more than finicky, it can be a fuckin’ nightmare.  Trying to rationalize when, why, and how WordPress operates is enough to make a man gouge out his eyes with a melon baller for sure.  As I sit here, pissed off, not knowing when or if this post will ever make it to my page, I am tinkering with other blog hosting sites.  Tumblr, Blogger, Weebly, to name a few.  It’s apparent why so many people allow themselves to be tortured by this merciless dominatrix of a blog hosting site; When WordPress works, it is the most user friendly for the daily blogger that needs a plethora of free options.  It allows people of all walks of life to blog in style.  But I personally am a minimalist.  I don’t need anything fancy, just an outlet, and a resource where people can find my work.  Over the next couple weeks I’ll be maintaining and posting on several different blog hosting sites.  I realize in the end I’ll probably wind up back here, with all widgets and what nots, but at least I’ll know the grass isn’t greener elsewhere.  Or perhaps I’ll continue to run multiple blogs; one for photos, poetry, and one for everything else.  But do I really need multiple blogs?

I wouldn’t have this problem if I wasn’t a slave to technology; lost my ability to appreciate human interaction face to face.  Does a person really need a computer, a smartphone, and a tablet?  How ’bout a Facebook, Myspace, and a Twitter?  Of course if you have social media, do you really need a WordPress, Tumblr, or Blogger?  I have a Gmail account, but do I need multiple emails, maybe one with Yahoo?  A couple of years ago I could have honestly answered no to the above questions.  But not today.  Without hesitation I answer YES.  I need all of the technology I have.  I can rationalize the added costs too.  Thanks to my smartphone I don’t need to buy newspapers, all the news I could ever want, wherever I want it is at my fingertips.  In the produce department, not sure what a pomelo is?  You can look it up on the phone.  Never again do you have to buy something you may not like.  Reviews of blu ray players, grocery lists, spanish speaking apps for trips to Mexico; they’re right there at your fingertips.  I can’t imagine not having that kind of access to information.

I’ll admit, social media is a bit out of hand.  But everyone of them I use for a different purpose.  Facebook helps me keep up with family and friends.  No longer do I receive photos of cousins, nieces, or nephews tucked away in Christmas cards destined to fill up my recycling bin.  I can follow every thing at the click of a button.  Myspace is for music.  The newly revamped Myspace does what it originally promised years ago, before it got out of hand, it connects people with different bands and musicians.  It helped me find a couple bar bands that I hope make it big one day.  Twitter, the easiest way to follow and keep up with celebrities and people who are always on the move.  Now I don’t recommend believing much of what people post as far as news goes on any of these sites.  About 96% of the facts I see while lurking about on Facebook turn out to be incorrect.  More often than not they give you a half truth so you’ll believe a whole lie.  Still, I use social media sites for specific purposes.  Without these sites my life would be drastically different, and definitely more complicated.

Emails these days have taken the place of the postal service in many ways.  They may eventually become a waste of time like the postal service, but they’re still needed even if only created to gain access to sites like Facebook.  I personally benefit from having more than one;  a primary account and one to use a “login account” for the many sites I am on.

As my days grow more and more technology driven.  I can’t help but think back to what is often called “the good old days”; back when we wrote letters, called people on “landlines”,and didn’t watch TV because there was nothing on the 5 channels we had.  I laugh.  Those days are long gone.  Especially for me, I’ve adapted.  A couple of years ago I longed for “a simpler life”.  Well, I’ve found it by embracing technology, and facing my fear of it.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Debris and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

